News + Announcements
  • Department Seeking New Director of Shared Instrument Facility

    The Department is accepting applications for the Director of the Chemistry Department’s Shared Instrument Facility. The Director is responsible for the overall operation of the Facility, which includes but is not limited to instrument monitoring and maintenance, oversight of sample analyses, user training, administration for the Facility, and working with faculty to maximize the Facility's impact on the Department’s research output. The facility houses instrumentation for mass spectrometry and a variety of spectroscopies.

  • Kevin Welsher Receives NIH-MIRA

    Professor Kevin Welsher has received his first NIH award, the prestigious Maximizing Investigator’s Research Award (R35).  Professor Welsher’s research aims to develop virus-locked 3D imaging methods to enable continuous observation throughout the infectious cycle from the perspective of a single virion. These methods will investigate the interactions of viral particles with the extracellular matrix, the cell membrane and cell surface receptors with unprecedented spatiotemporal resolution.

  • The Power of Passionate Teaching – an Alumna Gives Back by Honoring Legendary Chemistry Professor Pelham Wilder

    Chemistry alumna, Dr. Carol Ensigner (T'82, G'88), discusses her love of chemical education, her bond with Emeritus Professor Pelham Wilder, and her desire to break barriers in teaching in a recent Duke Forward article available here

  • Weitao Yang Named Honorary Fellow of Chinese Chemical Society

    Professor Weitao Yang has been named an Honorary Fellow of the Chinese Chemical Society.  This is the highest honor that the organization bestows, and the total number of recipients is limited to 100 worldwide.  The title was conferred in recognition of Prof. Yang's contribution to the development of the field of theoretical chemistry as a whole as well as the development of Chemistry in China.

  • Yang Yang Receives Dissertation Award

    Yang Yang, recent graduate of Weitao Yang's lab, has received the 2016 Outstanding Dissertation Award in Theoretical Chemistry at the National Conference of Quantum Chemistry.  The award was presented in Dalian, China for the dissertation "Ground and Electronic Excited States from Pairing Matrix Fluctuation and Particle-Particle Random Phase Approximation".