News + Announcements
  • David Beratan Receives the Murray Goodman Memorial Prize!

    Congratulations to Professor David Beratan, the 2018 Murray Goodman Memorial Prize recipient! Professor Beratan will receive the award from Biopolymers in recognition of his seminal contributions to biophysics and their impact on our understanding of charge transport in biomolecules.

  • Chemistry Hosting 2019 Summer Undergrad Research Experience in Theory and Computation

    Ten theoretical chemists at Duke are launching a summer undergraduate research program for rising seniors, beginning in the summer of 2019.  Undergraduate students studying in North America (US, Mexico, and Canada) are invited to apply.  The program will run for about seven weeks and will provide a research stipend, housing, and a travel allowance.

  • Chem Alumni Unite at Uniformed Services University

    Associate Dean Aaron Saguil (Chemistry '95 Grad!) stands with four recent Duke graduates as they begin their medical training at the Hébert School of Medicine at the Uniformed Services University.  From left: Thomas I. (2017 Chem minor); Eli M. (Biomedical Engineering '17); Gabrielle F. (2017 Chem Major); Dean Saguil; and Elan B-R. (Biomedical Engineering, 2007).  Wonderful to see Duke alumni uniting and thanks for sharing the pic!  

  • Chemistry is Hiring!

    The Department is seeking a colleague at the Assistant or Associate Professor rank with strong commitments to research, teaching, and embracing a diverse and inclusive community of scholars. Candidates should have research interests in experimental approaches in Inorganic or Physical Organic Chemistry, particularly those with a multidisciplinary reach.  Learn more about this exciting opportunity and submit an application at Academic Jobs Online.  

  • Duke Chemistry Leads New Polymer Chemistry Center

    The National Science Foundation is funding the new Center for the Chemistry of Molecularly Optimized Networks (MONET) as a Phase I Center for Chemical Innovation. Led by Duke and featuring prominent chemists at MIT and Northwestern, MONET informs strategies to bring remarkable properties to polymer networks, by treating them as complex but understandable chemical systems that can be harnessed to produce currently inaccessible collective properties.