News + Announcements
  • Darius Teo Receives Blue Waters Graduate Fellowship

    Darius, a second year student in the Beratan lab, received a Blue Waters Graduate Fellowship award for the 2018-2019 academic year. The award includes stipend, tuition remission, and an allocation of node hours on the Blue Waters system. Darius will also travel to Oregon to attend the annual Blue Water Symposium.  Congratulations, Darius!

    Darius Teo


  • Brittany Morgan Recognized for Excellence in Mentoring

    Congratulations to Brittany Morgan, a Ph.D. candidate in the Hargrove Lab, for receiving a 2018 Dean's Award for Excellence in Mentoring! Brittany has guided undergraduate students in their career paths, mentored incoming graduate students and a number of undergraduates, assisting them in their research, networking, and personal development.

  • Amanda Hargrove Receives NSF CAREER Award!

    Professor Amanda Hargrove has received a National Science Foundation CAREER Award. Professor Hargrove’s research objective is to draw upon exquisitely tunable small molecules to develop timesaving and simple technologies that elucidate critical principles in RNA recognition and related function. Congratulations to Amanda and her research group on receipt of this distinguished award!

  • The Future of Biochemistry is at Duke!

    Prof. Emily Derbyshire was named one of 44 prominent scientists moving Biochemistry into the future!  Secondary faculty member Ken Yokoyama and Department alumna Louise Charkoudian (Haverford College) also made the Biochemistry article’s top 44, highlighting Duke’s synergy among chemistry, biochemistry, and biology, as well as our commitment to mentoring the next generation of scientific leaders.  Congratulations to Emily, Ken and Lou on their recognition and contributions!

  • The Department Welcomes Prof. Michael Rubinstein!

    We are delighted to announce that Dr. Michael Rubinstein joined the Department as a Professor of Chemistry on January 1.  Professor Rubinstein's expertise in polymer theory and computer simulations, along with his joint appointments in Materials Science, Biomedical Engineering and Physics, will expand the excellence and impact of our growing department through new interdisciplinary collaborations in soft matter research.