News + Announcements
  • Two Chem Majors Receive Coveted Goldwater Scholarships!

    Azim Dharani and Kunal Shroff, both Chemistry majors, have been selected as Goldwater Scholars! Azim and Kunal were selected from more than 1200 applications for the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, a federally endowed award that encourages students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering. Azim has studied metal-binding therapeutic molecules with Professor Katherine Franz since his Freshman year and plans to obtain a Ph.D.

  • David Beratan Receives the ACS Murray Goodman Memorial Prize in Orlando!

    Congratulations to Professor David Beratan, the 2018 Murray Goodman Memorial Prize recipient! Professor Beratan received the award from Biopolymers in recognition of his seminal contributions to biophysics and their impact on our understanding of charge transport in biomolecules.

  • Kevin Welsher Recognized for Dedication to Teaching!

    Professor Kevin Welsher has received the Trinity Dean’s Robert B. Cox Teaching Award in recognition to his dedication to instruction, both inside and out of the classroom.  This award was championed by his PChem students who truly love his Chem 301 course!  Thank you, Kevin, for setting a wonderful example of exceptional instruction!  Read more about the Trinity Teaching Awards here

  • Benjamin Wiley Named 2019 ACS Buck-Whitney Award Recipient

    Congratulations to Professor Benjamin Wiley, the recipient of the American Chemical Society’s 2019 Buck-Whitney Award!  The Award recognizes Ben’s invention of metal nanowire transparent electrodes that rival the performance of indium tin oxide, and the development of corresponding core-shell nanowires that greatly expand nanowire functional properties important for non-volatile memory and conductive inks.   Congratulations to Ben and his lab on receipt of this prominent award!

  • Chem Alumni Receive NSF Predoctoral Awards!

    Congratulations to Chemistry alumni Charlotte Farquhar (2016) and Benjamin Rousseau (2017) for receiving National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships!  Charlotte is continuing her studies on drug-delivery with the Pentelute Lab at MIT and Benjamin is studying Nuclear Electronic Orbital Method and Proton-Coupled Electron Transfer with Professor Sharon Hammes-Schiffer at Yale University.  Congratulations to you both!

    NSF predocs