News + Announcements
  • Cracking the Glass with Prof. Patrick Charbonneau

    Take a quick peek in to Prof. Patrick Charbonneau's efforts devoted to cracking glass in a You Tube video featured here on The Duke Daily!  Interested in learning more?

  • Hargrove Receives Sloan Award!

    Prof. Amanda Hargrove has been named a 2020 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow! The fellowship acknowledges her work on the small-molecule targeting of RNA, which may hold the key to curing a number of hard-to-fight diseases. The Sloan Research Fellowships seek to stimulate fundamental research by early-career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise.  These two-year fellowships are awarded yearly to 126 researchers in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field.

  • Chem Major Awarded Churchill Scholarship

    Senior Azim Dharani has been awarded a 2020 Churchill Scholarship to pursue a year of graduate study at Cambridge University in England (one of only 16 in the country!!). Azim, an Angier B. Duke scholar from Lewisville, Texas, is a chem major and computational biology and classical archaeology minor. The Churchill Scholarship program enables outstanding American students to conduct one year of graduate study in engineering, mathematics or the natural or physical sciences at Cambridge's Churchill College. Azim plans to pursue a master’s degree in chemistry at Cambridge with Dr.

  • Chemists Named Highly Cited Researchers in 2019

    Congratulations to Professors Jie Liu, Bob Lefkowitz and David Mitzi! These chemists were named as Highly Cited Researchers by Web of Science, part of a select few who have been most frequently cited by their peers over the last decade. In 2019, fewer than 6,300, or 0.1%, of the world's researchers, across 21 research fields, have earned this exclusive distinction!

  • Bill Kaelin (T '79) wins Nobel prize in Physiology or Medicine

    Duke Chemistry Major, Bill Kaelin, awarded Nobel in Physiology or Medicine