News + Announcements

    We recognize the high level of stress and uncertainty brought on by the constantly shifting circumstances of the Covid pandemic. Please know your faculty and staff in Chemistry have been working diligently to develop an academic plan that considers the disruptive changes and tries to accommodate students in so many different situations. 

    If you are a Chem Major, please review these FAQ's before you register for Fall classes:

  • Duke Chemistry Participates in #ShutDownSTEM

    We invite each member of the department, especially faculty, to join us to take this time to reflect on our own actions and the ways for us as individuals, labs and a department to do better at "eradicating racism in our midst” as challenged by the Chair. We encourage authentic conversations around these topics within our community and will also be having them as faculty.  

  • Hargrove Lab Funded to Target SARS-CoV-2 RNA Structures

    Viral RNA structures are known to regulate replication but are under-explored as drug targets. In work funded by the Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA), a team led by Professor Amanda Hargrove and Professor Kathryn Mouzakis (LMU) will work to identify the first antivirals that target a SARS-CoV-2 RNA structure critical to effective translation of viral proteins, ultimately inhibiting viral replication. 

  • Charlie Cox to Join on August 1!

    We are thrilled to announce that Prof. Charlie Cox will join the Department to further expand Chemical Education in Chemistry! Professor Cox will promote active learning, including the use of flipped classrooms and case studies to improve learning and retention as an Associate Professor of the Practice. Charlie was born in North Carolina and completed his undergraduate program at NC State where he explored research in biophysical chemistry. He completed his doctoral study at Clemson with a focus on chemical education. Dr.

  • Congratulations to the Class of 2020 Graduates!

    The Department congratulates the graduating Class of 2020! We invite you visit the Marking the Moment webpage to view a video of Chemistry faculty and YouTube to see a video of our graduates! We wish you all well as you begin your next journey! Amazing adventures await!