News + Announcements
  • Duke Chemistry Leads New Polymer Chemistry Center

    The National Science Foundation is funding the new Center for the Chemistry of Molecularly Optimized Networks (MONET) as a Phase I Center for Chemical Innovation. Led by Duke and featuring prominent chemists at MIT and Northwestern, MONET informs strategies to bring remarkable properties to polymer networks, by treating them as complex but understandable chemical systems that can be harnessed to produce currently inaccessible collective properties.

  • Alumni Reunited at the University of Notre Dame for the Conference on Chemical Education

    Duke Chem alumni reunited at the University of Notre Dame for the Biennial Conference on Chemical Education! Drs. Robert Harris (Emory University), Jennifer Hawk (Converse College), and Pam Mosley (Michigan State) joined Dr. Kathryn Haas (St. Mary's College) to present talks, posters and Chair sessions.  Dr. James Parise (Univ. of Notre Dame) Co-Chaired the Conference. 

    Conf on Chem Ed


  • The Power of an Open Door– Alumni Give Back by Establishing Lochmüller Fellowship

    The Department is grateful for Professor Michael Hunnicutt and additional Duke Chem Alumni who recently established the Charles H. Lochmüller Fellowship Fund.  The Fellowship honors beloved former faculty member and Chair, Charlie Lochmüller. Read more about Charlie and the lasting legacy of his mentorship in the Duke Forward article available here.  Thank you to these Alumni for contributing to a fellowship that will open doors for a new generation of Duke Chemistry graduate students! 

  • Jennifer Roizen Receives NIH MIRA Award!

    Professor Jennifer Roizen has received a Maximizing Investigator’s Research Award (R35).  Professor Roizen’s research under this award will enable chemists to harness a ubiquitous functional group, the alcohol, to replace a C–H bond at a site that is not generally accessible to direct functionalization, and is expected to streamline access to biologically under-evaluated health-relevant small molecules. Congratulations to Jenny and her research group on receipt of this prestigious award (and her first NIH)!

  • Hargrove selected as ChemComm Emerging Investigator Lecturer

    Professor Amanda Hargrove has been selected as one of two recipients of the 2018 ChemComm Emerging Investigator Lectureship by their Editorial Board! As the winner of this high-profile award, Prof. Hargrove will present a ChemComm Emerging Investigator Lecture at three different locations over the course of the next year and will receive an honorarium and framed certificate in honor of her achievement!