News + Announcements
  • Chemists Do It Again! Three named Highly Cited Researchers in 2020!

    Congratulations to Professors Jie Liu, Bob Lefkowitz and David Mitzi! These chemists were once again named as Highly Cited Researchers by Web of Science, part of a select few who have been most frequently cited by their peers over the last decade.

  • Dean Valerie Ashby Talks Leadership & Education in Times of Crisis

    Dean Valerie Ashby & Dr. Holden Thorp led a discussion this week on "Leading Science and Education during the Twin Crises of COVID-19 and Racial Injustice".  If you didn't have an opportunity to join, please view it here. A special thanks to Duke Chem's NSF Center for Synthesizing Quantum Coherence for hosting this event.


  • Weitao Yang Delivers Introductory Lecture at Faraday Discussion

    Professor Weitao Yang delivered the Introductory Lecture at the Royal Society of Chemistry's Faraday Discussion “New Horizons in Density Functional Theory”.

  • Becker Named ACS Fellow

    Professor Matthew Becker has been named as a Fellow of the American Chemical Society!  This designation is awarded to members who, in some capacity, have made exceptional contributions to the science or profession and have provided excellent volunteer service to the ACS community.  Chemistry alumnus Rudy Baum (C&EN, Retired) joins Matt as a 2020 Fellow. Congratulations!




    We recognize the high level of stress and uncertainty brought on by the constantly shifting circumstances of the Covid pandemic. Please know your faculty and staff in Chemistry have been working diligently to develop an academic plan that considers the disruptive changes and tries to accommodate students in so many different situations. 

    If you are a Chem Major, please review these FAQ's before you register for Fall classes: