Current Members

Group Leader

Patrick Charbonneau
Associate Professor of Chemistry and Physics

Ph.D. Harvard University
B.Sc. McGill University
CV (pdf)     Contact

Prof. Charbonneau obtained his Ph.D. in chemical physics from Harvard University in 2006 and was a Marie-Curie Postdoctorial Fellow at Amolf, in Amsterdam, before joining Duke in 2008.

Prof. Charbonneau studies the glass problem and self-assembly of colloids and proteins, using both theory and numerical simulations. He has published more than 70 peer-reviewed papers on these topics, and co-organized a number of workshops, including “Particulate Matter: Does Dimensionality Matter?” in Dresden in 2010 and “Unifying Concepts in Glass Physics VI” in Aspen in 2015. Since joining Duke, Charbonneau has earned a NSF CAREER Award, a Sloan Fellowship, and an Oak Ridge Ralph E. Powe award. He has also been granted various visiting scientist positions in France and in Italy.


Graduate Students

Yi Hu
Office: 5328 FFSC AT

Mingyuan Zheng
Office: 5328 FFSC
mingyuan.zheng AT

Posdoctoral Fellows

Bijoy Daga
Joint appointment with Bagnat Lab in Department of Cell Biology.
Office: 5328 FFSC
bijoy.daga AT

Peter K Morse
Office: 5328 FFSC

Former Members

Dr. Irem Altan
Ph.D. student (Ph.D., 2019)

Dr. Lin Fu
Ph.D. student (Ph.D., 2017)

Dr. Yuan Zhuang
Ph.D. student (Ph.D., 2016)

Dr. ​Diana Fusco
Ph.D. student (Ph.D., 2014)

Dr. Kai Zhang
Ph.D. student (Ph.D., 2012)

Joyjit Kundu
Postdoctoral Fellow (2017-2019)

Dr. Sho Yaida
Postdoctoral Fellow (2014-2018)

Dr. Yuliang Jin
Postdoctoral Fellow (2012-2015)

Ye Liang
MS student (M.Sc., 2019)

Zhen Yang
Undergraduate researcher (2019)

Caitlin Gish
Undergraduate researcher (2019)

Glenn Palmer
Research Associate (2017, Duke '14)

Cathy Li
Research Associate (2016-2017, Duke '16)

Daming Li
Undergraduate researcher (2015)

Hao Zhao
Undergraduate researcher (2014, Duke '17)

Dr. Raffaele Tavarone
TU Berlin visitor (2014-2015)  

Giulia Carra
ENS visitor (2013)

David Sandberg
MRSEC REU (2014)

Samuel Wentworth
MRSEC REU (2013)

Timothy Barnum
Chemistry REU (2012)