Faculty Profiles

Faculty
Steven W. Baldwin

Steven W. Baldwin

Professor of Chemistry
Office: 1101 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1563
steven.baldwin@duke.edu

The central themes of our research program are the development of methodology to accomplish the synthesis of optically pure materials and the...

 
Stephen Craig

Stephen Craig

William T. Miller Professor of Chemistry
Office: 3221 French Family Science Cen, 124 Science Drive, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1538
stephen.craig@duke.edu
Craig Research Group

Research interests in Prof. Craig's group bridge physical organic and materials chemistry. Many of these interests are guided by the vision that...

 
Amanda Hargrove

Amanda Hargrove

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: 3219 French Science Center, Box 90346, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1522
amanda.hargrove@duke.edu
Hargrove Research Group

The Hargrove lab harnesses the unique properties of small organic molecules to study the structure, function and therapeutic potential of long...

 
Jiyong Hong

Jiyong Hong

Professor of Chemistry
Office: 3220 French Science Center, 124 Science Drive, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1545
jiyong.hong@duke.edu
Hong Research Group

Research in the Hong group focuses on using chemical tools, in particular small molecules, to understand the signaling pathways in biology. We...

 
Steven Malcolmson

Steven Malcolmson

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: 1103 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1575
steven.malcolmson@duke.edu
Malcolmson Research Group

The discovery of catalysts is of great importance to the practice of modern synthetic chemistry, both to improve upon the existing catalog of...

 
Dewey G. McCafferty

Dewey G. McCafferty

Professor of Chemistry
Office: B120 LSRC, Box 90346, 450 Research Drive, Dept. Chemistry, Durham, NC 27708-0346
Phone: (919) 660-1516
dewey.mccafferty@duke.edu
McCafferty Research Group

Our research interests are broadly based in chemical biology, mechanistic enzymology and molecular medicine. Towards this end our group is...

 
Jennifer Roizen

Jennifer Roizen

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: 1104 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27701
Phone: (919) 660-9438
jennifer.roizen@duke.edu
Roizen Research Group

Inspired by small molecule natural products, the Roizen laboratories will initiate research to access improved antibiotics, and selective ion...

 
Michael J. Therien

Michael J. Therien

William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Chemistry in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Office: 5330 French Family Science Cen, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1670
michael.therien@duke.edu
Google Scholar

Our research involves the synthesis of compounds, supramolecular assemblies, nano-scale objects, and electronic materials with unusual ground-and...

 
Qiu Wang

Qiu Wang

Robert R. & Katherine B. Penn Associate Professor
Office: 2102 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27705
Phone: (919) 660-1648
qiu.wang@duke.edu
Wang Research Group

Research in the Wang group aims to answer fundamental questions that lie at the interface of chemistry and biology. In particular, we are...

 
Ross A. Widenhoefer

Ross A. Widenhoefer

Professor of Chemistry
Office: 124 Science Drive, 2101 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1533
ross.widenhoefer@duke.edu
Widenhoefer Research Group

Research in the Widenhoefer group is directed toward the development and mechanistic analysis of new organotransition metal-catalyzed...