News + Announcements
  • Derbyshire and Hargrove Win Back-to-Back Award

    Congratulation to back-to-back Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award winners Amanda Hargrove (2014) and Emily Derbyshire (2015)!  Prof. Hargrove won for her development of small molecule libraries that can screen for lncRNA structure and function  and Prof.

  • Postdoc Rene Raphemot Recognized

    Congratulations to Dr. Rene Raphemot, now a postdoctoral associate in the Derbyshire lab, who has has won a Mitchell Meritorious Research Travel Award from the Duke’s Center's Host-Microbial Interactions Center and the Molecular Genetics and Microbiology Department.  Dr.

  • GCC Students Organize Career Panel

    Chemistry graduate students Zeenat Razvi, Samuel Alvarez, and Ryenne Ogburn recently organized a panel discussion on non-traditional careers for STEM PhDs.  Read more about this Graduate Chemistry Council (GCC) sponsored event here.


  • Women in Chemistry Brunch

    Thanks to the support of the Chemistry Major's Union, WiSE and the Department, the first Women in Chemistry Brunch was held on Friday, April 24.  The event, an integrative, networking brunch for undergraduate and graduate women in Chemistry, included our female faculty and lab managers as well.


  • Zack Scholl Receives Fellowship Award

    Zackary Scholl, a member of the Yang group, has been awarded the Katherine Goodman Stern Fellowship by the Graduate School for 2015-16.  This competitive fellowship, funded in part from a generous endowment established by Katherine Stern, is awarded to an advanced graduate student in the write-up stage of their dissertation.  Congratulations Zack!