Faculty Profiles

Faculty

Valerie S Ashby

Professor of Chemistry
Office: 421 Chapel Drive - 104 Allen, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 684-4510
valerie.ashby@duke.edu

Valerie Sheares Ashby is the Dean of Trinity College of Arts & Sciences at Duke University. She received her B.A. and her Ph.D. degrees in...

 

Steven W. Baldwin

Professor of Chemistry
Office: 1101 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1563
steven.baldwin@duke.edu

The central themes of our research program are the development of methodology to accomplish the synthesis of optically pure materials and the...

 

David N. Beratan

R.J. Reynolds Professor of Chemistry
Office: 5311 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1526
david.beratan@duke.edu
Beratan Research Group

Dr. Beratan is developing theoretical approaches to understand the function of complex molecular and macromolecular systems, including: the...

 

Dorian Canelas

Assistant Professor of the Practice in the Department of Chemistry
Office: 1223 French Family Science Cen, 124 Science Drive, Box 3236, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1528
dorian.canelas@duke.edu

Prof. Canelas has been active in implementation of student-centered pedagogies and developing programs to increase undergraduate retention in...

 

Patrick Charbonneau

Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: 5329 French Science, 124 Science Drive, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 613-6261
patrick.charbonneau@duke.edu
Charbonneau Research Group

Professor Charbonneau studies soft matter. His work combines theory and simulation to understand the glass problem, protein crystallization,...

 

Stephen Lawrence Craig

William T. Miller Professor of Chemistry
Office: 3221 French Family Science Center, 124 Science Drive, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1538
stephen.craig@duke.edu
Craig Research Group

Research interests in Prof. Craig's group bridge physical organic and materials chemistry. Many of these interests are guided by the vision that...

 

Emily Rose Derbyshire

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: 3218 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1511
emily.derbyshire@duke.edu
Derbyshire Research Group

The Derbyshire Lab uses both chemical tools and biological methods to uncover novel aspects of malaria parasite biology with the ultimate aim of...

 

Martin Fischer

Associate Research Professor in the Department of Chemistry
Office: 2216 French Science Center, 124 Science Drive, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1523

Dr. Fischer’s research focuses on exploring novel nonlinear optical contrast mechanisms for molecular imaging. Nonlinear optical microscopes can...

 

Michael C. Fitzgerald

Professor of Chemistry
Office: 3222 French Science Center, 124 Science Drive, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1547
michael.c.fitzgerald@duke.edu
Fitzgerald Research Group

Dr. Fitzgerald’s research group is focused on studies of protein folding and function. The group utilizes a combination of covalent labeling...

 

Aaron D. Franklin

Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Office: CIEMAS 3473, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 668-9100
aaron.franklin@duke.edu
Group Website

Dr. Aaron Franklin received his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Purdue University in 2008 and...

 

Katherine J. Franz

Alexander F. Hehmeyer Professor of Chemistry
Office: 2103 French Science Center, 124 Science Drive, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1541
katherine.franz@duke.edu
Franz Research Group

Research in the Franz group is involved in elucidating the structural and functional consequences of metal ion coordination in biological systems...

 

Amanda Elaine Hargrove

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: 3219 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1522
amanda.hargrove@duke.edu
Hargrove Research Group

The Hargrove lab harnesses the unique properties of small organic molecules to study the structure, function and therapeutic potential of long...

 

Jiyong Hong

Professor of Chemistry
Office: 3220 French Science Center, 124 Science Drive, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1545
jiyong.hong@duke.edu
Hong Research Group

Research in the Hong group focuses on using chemical tools, in particular small molecules, to understand the signaling pathways in biology. We...

 

Jie Liu

George Barth Geller Professor of Chemistry in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Office: 2105 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1549
j.liu@duke.edu
Liu Research Group

Dr. Liu’s research interests are focusing on the chemistry and material science of nanoscale materials. Specific topics in his current research...

 

Richard MacPhail

Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: French Family Science Center, Room 1216, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1536
richard.macphail@duke.edu

Dr. MacPhail is a physical chemist whose research has focused on intermolecular interactions and molecular dynamics in disordered condensed phases...

 

Steven Malcolmson

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: 1103 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1575
steven.malcolmson@duke.edu
Malcolmson Research Group

The discovery of catalysts is of great importance to the practice of modern synthetic chemistry, both to improve upon the existing catalog of...

 

Dewey G. McCafferty

Professor of Chemistry
Office: B120 LSRC, Box 90346, 450 Research Drive, Dept. Chemistry, Durham, NC 27708-0346
Phone: (919) 660-1516
dewey.mccafferty@duke.edu
McCafferty Research Group

Our research interests are broadly based in chemical biology, mechanistic enzymology and molecular medicine. Towards this end our group is...

 

Agostino Migliore

Assistant Research Professor in the Department of Chemistry
Office:
Phone:
agostino.migliore@duke.edu

 

Jennifer Lyn Roizen

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: 1104 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27701
Phone: (919) 660-9438
jennifer.roizen@duke.edu
Roizen Research Group

Inspired by small molecule natural products, the Roizen laboratories will initiate research to access improved antibiotics, and selective ion...

 

Christopher P. Roy

Associate Professor of the Practice of Chemistry
Office: 1222 French Science Center, 124 Science Drive, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1518
chris.roy@duke.edu

 

Thomas Theis

Assistant Research Professor of Chemistry
Office: 2315 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-2568
thomas.theis@duke.edu
Theis Research

Theis' research is at the intersection of Spin Physics and Hyperpolarization Chemistry. It has applications in the study of...

 

Michael J. Therien

William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Chemistry in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Office: 5330 French Family Science Cen, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1670
michael.therien@duke.edu
Google Scholar

Our research involves the synthesis of compounds, supramolecular assemblies, nano-scale objects, and electronic materials with unusual ground-and...

 

Eric John Toone

Professor of Chemistry
Office: 215 Morris Street, Suite 300, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 681-3484
eric.toone@duke.edu
Duke I&E

Dr. Toone is a physical organic chemist who studies relationships between structure and activity in the context of biology. Currently active...

 

Tuan Vo-Dinh

R. Eugene and Susie E. Goodson Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Office: 2589 CIEMAS, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-5598
tuan.vodinh@duke.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Tuan Vo-Dinh is R. Eugene and Susie E. Goodson Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Professor of Chemistry, and Director of The...

 

Qiu Wang

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: 2102 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27705
Phone: (919) 660-1648
qiu.wang@duke.edu
Wang Research Group

Research in the Wang group aims to answer fundamental questions that lie at the interface of chemistry and biology. In particular, we are...

 

Warren S. Warren

James B. Duke Professor of Chemistry
Office: 2217 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1604
warren.warren@duke.edu
Warren Research Group

Our work focuses on the design and application of what might best be called novel pulsed techniques, using controlled radiation fields to alter...

 

Kevin David Welsher

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: 2213 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27705
Phone: (919) 660-1509
kdw32@duke.edu
Welsher Research Group

 

Ross A. Widenhoefer

Professor of Chemistry
Office: 124 Science Drive, 2101 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 401-9240
ross.widenhoefer@duke.edu
Widenhoefer Research Group

Research in the Widenhoefer group is directed toward the development and mechanistic analysis of new organotransition metal-catalyzed...

 

Benjamin J. Wiley

Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: 2214 French Family Science Cen, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 668-3066
benjamin.wiley@duke.edu
Wiley Research Lab

In the Wiley Group, we make new nanomaterials by controlling the assembly of atoms in solution, and explore applications for nanomaterials in...

 

Weitao Yang

Philip Handler Professor of Chemistry in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Office: 5310 French Family Science Center, Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919) 660-1562
weitao.yang@duke.edu
Yang Research Group

Prof. Yang, the Philip Handler Professor of Chemistry, is developing methods for quantum mechanical calculations of large systems and carrying out...

 

Peng Zhang

Assistant Research Professor in the Department of Chemistry
Office: 5313 French Science Center, Durham, NC 27705
Phone: (919) 660-1675
peng.zhang@duke.edu