Faculty Profiles

Faculty

Steven W. Baldwin

Professor
Office: 1101 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1563
steven.baldwin@duke.edu

The central themes of our research program are the development of methodology to accomplish the synthesis of optically pure materials and the...

 

David N. Beratan

Professor
Office: 5311 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1526
david.beratan@duke.edu
Group Site

Dr. Beratan is developing theoretical approaches to understand the function of complex molecular and macromolecular systems, including: the...

 

Dorian A Canelas

Assistant Professor of the Practice
Office: 1223 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1528
dorian.canelas@duke.edu

Prof. Canelas has been active in implementation of student-centered pedagogies and developing programs to increase undergraduate retention in...

 

Patrick Charbonneau

Assistant Professor
Office: 5329 FFSC
Phone: (919) 613-6261
patrick.charbonneau@duke.edu
Group Site

Professor Charbonneau studies soft matter assembly. His current work combines theory and simulation to understand microphase formation, protein...

 

Stephen L Craig

Professor and Department Chair
Office: 3221 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1538
stephen.craig@duke.edu
Group Site

Research interests in Prof. Craig's group bridge physical organic and materials chemistry. Many of these interests are guided by the vision that...

 

Alvin L. Crumbliss

Professor
Office: 2104 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1540
alvin.crumbliss@duke.edu
Group Site

Dr. Crumbliss is interested in the function, reactivity and control of transition metals in biological systems. A major emphasis is...

 

Emily R Derbyshire

Scholar in Residence
Office: 3218 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1511
emily.derbyshire@duke.edu

Parasites infect billions of humans each year and cause several major diseases, largely in underserved populations in developing parts of the...

 

Martin C Fischer

Associate Research Professor
Office: 2216 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1523
martin.fischer@duke.edu

Dr. Fischer’s research focuses on exploring novel nonlinear optical contrast mechanisms for molecular imaging. Nonlinear optical microscopes can...

 

Michael C Fitzgerald

Professor
Office: 3222 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1547
michael.c.fitzgerald@duke.edu
Group Site

Dr. Fitzgerald’s research group is focused on studies of protein folding and function. The group utilizes a combination of covalent labeling...

 

Katherine J Franz

Associate Professor and Associate Chair
Office: 2103 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1541
katherine.franz@duke.edu
Group Site

Research in the Franz group is involved in elucidating the structural and functional consequences of metal ion coordination in biological systems...

 

Amanda E. Hargrove

Assistant Professor
Office: 3219 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1522
amanda.hargrove@duke.edu
Group Site

The Hargrove lab harnesses the unique properties of small organic molecules to study the structure, function and therapeutic potential of long...

 

Jiyong Hong

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Office: 3220 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1545
jiyong.hong@duke.edu
Group Site

Research in the Hong group focuses on using chemical tools, in particular small molecules, to understand the signaling pathways in biology. We...

 

Jie Liu

Professor
Office: 2105 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1549
j.liu@duke.edu
Group Site

Dr. Liu’s research interests are focusing on the chemistry and material science of nanoscale materials. Specific topics in his current research...

 

Richard A MacPhail

Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Office: 1216 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1536, (919) 660-1500
richard.macphail@duke.edu

Dr. MacPhail is a physical chemist whose research has focused on intermolecular interactions and molecular dynamics in disordered condensed...

 

Steven Malcolmson

Assistant Professor
Office: 1103 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1575
steven.malcolmson@duke.edu
Group Site

The discovery of catalysts is of great importance to the practice of modern synthetic chemistry, both to improve upon the existing catalog of...

 

Dewey G. McCafferty

Professor
Office: B120 LSRC
Phone: (919) 660-1516
dewey@duke.edu
Group Site

Our research interests are broadly based in chemical biology, mechanistic enzymology and molecular medicine. Towards this end our group is...

 

Jennifer L. Roizen

Assistant Professor
Office: 1104 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-9438
jennifer.roizen@duke.edu
Group Site

Inspired by small molecule natural products, the Roizen laboratories will initiate research to access improved antibiotics, and selective ion...

 

Christopher P Roy

Assoc. Dir. of Undergraduate Studies
Office: 1222 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1518
chris.roy@duke.edu

 

Michael J Therien

Professor
Office: 5330 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1670
michael.therien@duke.edu
Group Site

Our research involves the synthesis of compounds, supramolecular assemblies, nano-scale objects, and electronic materials with unusual ground-and...

 

Eric J. Toone

Professor
Office: 102 Gross Hall
Phone: (919) 681-3484
eric.toone@duke.edu
Group Site

Dr. Toone is a physical organic chemist who studies relationships between structure and activity in the context of biology. Currently active...

 

Tuan Vo-Dinh

Professor
Office: 2589 CIEMAS
Phone: (919) 660-5598
tuan.vodinh@duke.edu
Group Site

Dr. Tuan Vo-Dinh’s research activities and interests involve biophotonics, laser-excited luminescence spectroscopy, room temperature...

 

Qiu Wang

Assistant Professor
Office: 2102 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1648
qiu.wang@duke.edu
Group Site

Research in the Wang group aims to answer fundamental questions that lie at the interface of chemistry and biology. In particular, we are...

 

Warren S. Warren

Professor
Office: 2217 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1604
warren.warren@duke.edu
Group Site

Our work focuses on the design and application of what might best be called novel pulsed techniques, using controlled radiation fields to alter...

 

Ross A. Widenhoefer

Professor
Office: 2101 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1533
ross.widenhoefer@duke.edu
Group Site

Research in the Widenhoefer group is directed toward the development and mechanistic analysis of new organotransition metal-catalyzed...

 

Benjamin J. Wiley

Assistant Professor
Office: 2214 FFSC
Phone: (919) 668-3066
benjamin.wiley@duke.edu
Group Site

In the Wiley Group, we make new nanomaterials by controlling the assembly of atoms in solution, and explore applications for nanomaterials in...

 

Weitao Yang

Professor
Office: 5310 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1562
weitao.yang@duke.edu
Group Site

Prof. Yang, the Philip Handler Professor of Chemistry, is developing methods for quantum mechanical calculations of large systems and carrying...

 

Peng Zhang

Assistant Research Professor
Office: 5313 FFSC
Phone: (919) 660-1675
pz19@duke.edu